Spokane DUI License Suspension Lawyers
Have you been arrested for drunk driving in Washington, Oregon or Idaho? If so, it is important to realize that you face a criminal suspension and an administrative suspension. The administrative suspension can occur even if you are not convicted of the DUI. In Washington, you have only twenty days to request an administrative hearing before the Department of Licensing (DOL). If you fail to request that hearing your license will automatically be suspended. A dedicated and experienced attorney can fully address your concerns regarding criminal penalties and license suspension in the aftermath of a DUI. At the Spokane Law Offices of Christian J. Phelps, we can help save your driver's license.
Oregon and Idaho's laws and time lines are very different, so please contact us immediately to discuss your rights.
When Your Future and Freedom Are at Risk
Contact the Law Offices of Christian J. Phelps
If your blood or breath alcohol level is .08 or more, the state will automatically take away your license because of your drunk driving arrest. In addition, since Washington licenses have implied consent to take a breath or blood sample, any refusal will also result in an automatic license suspension, as well in Oregon and Idaho.
All necessary paperwork and $200 must be sent into the DOL within twenty days of your arrest. Otherwise your license will be automatically suspended for at least 90 days for your first offense. We will make sure you correctly fill out the proper forms and represent you at the DOL hearing. The administrative DOL hearings are conducted telephonically. Regardless of the outcome of the administrative hearing you will still face an additional suspension depending on the outcome in the criminal case.
The state of Washington takes driving under the influence very seriously. For example, the following license suspensions are administered by the DOL for a first offense:
- BAC of Greater Than .08 But Less Than .15- 90 day suspension, 30 days of absolutely no driving
- BAC of over .15- one year suspension, 90 days of absolutely no driving
- Refusal of Test- one year suspension
Depending upon your current needs and driving record, you may qualify for an occupational license. If you do qualify, you will have to pay a small fee, fill out a short application and file an SR 22 for proof of insurance. You must install an interlock device on your car, and after at least thirty days of the suspension, you will receive occupational driving privileges.
The State of Washington has just introduced a new "Interlock" license. Under this new law, you may be able to continue your driving privileges, in spite of any technical suspensions.
While it is important to fight the potential criminal consequences of your DUI arrest, you should also be concerned about retaining your driver's license. We can help you take action and fight the suspension of your license. Contact us today at our Spokane law offices for a free initial consultation.